Ask Val

May 11, 2011

Give Or Take

Filed under: ASK VAL,Dear Val,Family — Valerie Springer @ 8:54 pm

Throughout my childhood and into my adult years I have heard the saying  “Give or Take”…I believe most would see the scales as being even but I believe there is a far deeper meaning to this quip from the past.

After the events of the past weeks, my mind has been in over-drive and I have tried to take inventory of my journey up until now.  The people who have been in my life in the past… alive or dead, those who showed up un-announced…for good or bad, those who are part of my life through no choice of my own…blessing or nightmare and those who will forever remain a part of my existence…because of a deep love or bond that is never going to be explained. 

I believe there are really ONLY two types of people, but for my blog I am going to say three types and you will understand in a moment.  The two types are as follows:

*GIVERS’

*TAKERS’

The third would be:

*TAKERS’ WHO BELIEVE (or try to convince others) THEY ARE GIVERS’

Givers’ are gracious.  They lovingly spend their time trying to help others and are always there to lend support and have a kind word for their family, friends or strangers.   The dictionary meaning says to present voluntarily and without expecting compensation; to bestow; to give back; return or restore: bring back to life by the way they treat others.

Takers’ are only looking out for their best interest and how they are suited.  They have little regard for others outisde their immediate circle.  The dictionary says a taker is someone who will voluntarily take hold or possession by any means possible; to control by force or artifice; to take personal gain at the expense of others.  Existing only to see what they can gain from others.

Takers’ who believe (or try to convince others) they are Givers’ are the worst.  Deep inside they know their manipulations but believe they have convinced those around their motives are genuine.  They are not thankful nor appreciative unless it benefits them directly and then they  believe they are deserving of any gratuities they bring into their own fold; greedy.  These people have no regard for others unless they are about to be exposed.  These wreak havoc on everyone in their path but are quick to blame others for their misfortune and slow to take responsibility.

In business as well as personal life we meet all three.  Givers’ are fabulous and as a Mortgage Consultant in the Birmingham, AL  area I have been blessed with my share, thankfully.  Takers’, I have had those as well, if everything were easy we would never learn life’s lessons.  The last…I refer to another lender!  (wisdom)

Please call Valerie Springer for all home mortgages, I would be honored to help you.

Yours to Count On,

Valerie Springer

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

